USAU Masters 2018 20180722 134519 RC 81 (ZF 4058 68816 1 004)
PHOTO CREDIT: Rodney Chen [UltiPhotos]


Masters Division

  Youth   College   Club   Masters   Beach  
2020 Season
Regional Boundaries
  National Men's Masters Director Kyle Christoph
  National Women's Masters Director Kristi Schmeling


2020 Masters Division Guidelines

Masters Division Contacts

2020 Team Registration Tracker
(Check to see your team's eligibility status for the Masters Series)


The Masters Division is age restricted: Men's Masters (33+); Mixed Masters (30+ for women, and 33+ for men); Women's Masters (30+); Men's Grand Masters (40+); Women's Grand Masters (37+); and Great Grand Masters (45+ for women, and 50+ for men).

The Masters Division began in 1991 as an age-restricted division of play at the Club Championships. The Masters Women's Division was discontinued in 1998, but was reinstated in 2009 alongside the Grand Masters Division at a standalone summer event.  In 2013, the Masters Open division was renamed Masters Men's and moved from the fall to join the other divisions at the Masters Championships. In 2017, the division expanded to include the Mixed Masters, Women's Grand Masters and Men's Great Grand Masters divisions.

USAU 638x90 JAN14

2020 Masters Season


2020 Masters Championship Series
  June 13-14   July 17-19  
  Masters Regional Championships   Masters


  • Masters Series (2020)

  • Masters Championships (2020)

  • History




The link below shows Masters teams that have met the eligibility requirements to compete in the 2020 Masters Series.

Team tracker

Please report any errors to

back to top

Regional Boundaries

For regions with enough teams to hold a qualifying tournament, Masters teams compete in one of eight geographic regions of play.  In 2014, the Masters division expanded from six regions to eight regions to align itself with the current Club division boundaries.  Email with any clarifications regarding regional boundaries.

2012ClubRegions final  
Region Geographic Scope
Great Lakes   Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan (lower), Ohio
Mid-Atlantic    Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia
North Central Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska,  North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin + Manitoba / Ontario (upper)
Northeast       Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New York, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont +  Newfoundland and Labrador / Nova Scotia / Ontario (lower) / Quebec
Northwest     Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Washington + Alberta / British Columbia / Saskatchewan
South Central Arkansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, Wyoming + Mexican states (various)
Southeast      Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee
Southwest     Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, + Mexican states (various)



back to top


Who is eligible to compete?

The Masters Divisions are restricted to players of a certain age or older: Great Grand Masters (50+ for males / 45+ for females); Men's Grand Masters (40+); Women's Grand Masters (37+); Men's Masters (33+); Women's Masters (30+); Mixed Masters (33+ for males / 30+ for females).

Where do I compete? 

In addition to the summer Masters Championships, regions with enough teams have Regional qualifier events to determine bids to the championship. Figure out which of the eight regions your team is in above.

Who are my local coordinators?

Visit the Contact Us page for the full list of volunteer Masters Regional Coordinators and their email aliases.

How do I start a team?

Refer to the Masters Guidelines for details regarding registration.

back to top